Things I Have Learned From Going Natural

59057_497306143633772_510554081_nI just wanted to share a few things I never knew or realized during my natural journey….this isn’t EVERYTHING I learned but its just a few things that come to mind now..

  1. The reason that I used to get relaxers was because I did not know how to maintain my hair in its natural state.
  2. My hair type, 4c…and it has small curls that I love!
  3. I can rock my hair without a relaxer and still look cute.
  4. You can still be natural and wear a wig…DON’T LISTEN TO THOSE NEGATIVE NATURALS THAT THINK THEY KNOW EVERYTHING.
  5. Going natural has allowed me to embrace more things about myself other than hair.
  6. You have to be have some back bone if you’re going to do the big chop. Even if you wear wigs like me, the people who find out about your hair or finally see it, may not accept it and will show it.
  7. Never take advice from someone that has ONLY gotten relaxers all their life.
  8. Never give into peer pressure. Going natural is a decision..don’t let someone else but yourself influence the change if you decide you no longer want to be natural.
  9. There are thousands..maybe millions of black women who have gone natural and some of them are/were around me.
  10. A lot of black women don’t know the joy of going natural and some just don’t want to.
  11. I never knew how important deep conditioning and moisturizing was….actually I never KNEW what it was until I went on this journey.
  12. The people in your life who do not accept your methods of going natural
  13. Men always complain about weave and not being able to touch your hair but even being natural I STILL don’t want anyones hands in my hair lol

-Jazzie

One thought on “Things I Have Learned From Going Natural

  1. yes yes yes to number 3!! I do not understand why guys like women that use relaxers at all. Also, kudos for number 11, because moisturizer is as important to hair as oxygen is to people. I use tons of it : )

Leave a Reply

