Hair Journey Update: I Dyed My Hair Using Textures & Tones…Carson Roots of Nature Products Suck!

So I have not updated on my hair journey since Dec. 16. Lets start with what I have been going through since then…

carson softsheen natures of rootsThe first couple of days after taking my box braids out I was experiencing some dryness and rough hair from product build up. It turns out it wasn’t me it was the actual product that I was using as a moisturizer. I had been using softsheen carson roots of nature feathered curl whip cream to moisturize my hair and over time I began to notice how my hair looked and felt very dry the next day but when I spritzed it with water it felt dry. So I took it to the internet and try to find out what was going then I read some reviews on carsons products. Turns out I’m not the only ne having this experience in fact, a lot of women who use the product said over time their hair just doesn’t like the product anymore or the product causes build up…which is exactly what I’m going through. So I have the deep conditioner, 2 bottles of whipped cream curl, the shampoo and 2 bottles of moisturizer…none of them work on my hair properly. So as my moisturizer I had to switch back to using my conditioner “Jason Super Shine Apricot Conditioner” which is an organic product. Its the only conditioner that moisturizers my hair good and right now I’m completely out of it so I’m going to have to run to the store to get some more. This time I will get a different fragrance because the Apricot, no offense/don’t judge me, smells like breath.

So now my regimen is:

  1. Spritzing my hair with water mixed with rosemary oil…A lot of women have told me that I should hold back on the rosemary oil but it works great on my hair, in fact it actually makes it easier to detangle my hair. Something abut rosemary oil penetrates my scalp like a hot shower opens up the pores.
  2. After spritzing my hair I moisturize my hair with Jason Super Shine Apricot Conditioner then I put a shower cap n for 30 min to an hour to make sure the conditioner penetrates my hair.
  3. After the time has passed I take off the shower cap and seal my hair with olive oil/rosemary mix. Olive oil works good on my hair…better than any other oil I have tried.

1dyeWith this regimen I dyed my hair. I was sooo scared but I just went for it. I didn’t do any research except googling if you should wash your hair before dying which is a huge NO and if you do, wait one day after you have done so

The dye I used was Texture & Tones with the hair color 3rv Plum. Let me just say I failed. I had no clue how to put the color on my hair and I was scared to leave it on because I know dying your hair could cause dryness and breakage so I took it off after 20 minutes even though your suppose to wait 30 minutes if you are natural. So heres the result and as you can see theres not much of a difference. The color only shows when I’m in the light outside, it was dark out yesterday when I took these photos so I could not use natural light.textures and tones plum dye

So the question for me is, Am I still natural even if I dyed my hair?

My answer: Fuck yeah am I!

I wear half wigs, I dyed my hair and I’m still natural, problem?

Last but not least here is my growth since now the big chop! So proud of myself.

progress big chop

-Jazzie

2 thoughts on “Hair Journey Update: I Dyed My Hair Using Textures & Tones…Carson Roots of Nature Products Suck!

  1. I want to know if you still can use textures & tones if you put the conditioner in the dye

Leave a Reply

